Synthpop Your World

Track Feature:
"Never Enough" by Bel Epoq  Bel Epoq
  • Label: Independent
  • Music by: Timo Köhler & Ariane Jahn
  • Lyrics by: Ariane Jahn
  • Vocals by: Ariane Jahn
  • Produced by: Bel Epoq & Jurik Maretzki
  • Mixed by: Jurik Maretzki
  • Mastered by: Jurik Maretzki
  • Additional Credits:
    Coverphoto by Jan Season Studiophoto by Maximilian Busch
  • Audio Production Technique: Hybrid (Some digital / Some analog)
  • DAWs used:
    Logic ProLogic Pro
  • Plugin Brands used:
    - DAW Proprietary Plugins- DAW Proprietary Plugins
  • Synth/Controller/Sampler Brands used:
  • Most used synth model : micro-korg micro-korg
  • Recording Date: March 2021
  • Recording Location: Hamburg & Luebeck (Germany)
Release Date: 03-03-2023

Track Popularity: NEW


"Synthwave duo Bel Epoq recently released their single 'Never Enough', an anthemic and euphoric tune that is finely presented with an elegant atmosphere that captures a great balance between synthpop and synthwave elements.

Bel Epoq stands out in the synth production side with a gorgeously classically tweaked layer of analog and captivating melodies that embellish harmoniously every section of the track.

The beat engages in a fine pressure that holds the track in a profound solid way that makes the listener pay extra attention to the nuances and sonic details the band is skillfully indulging on.

Finally, the vocals shine through and through, with an elegant tone at all times and a wide range of harmonics that ultimately enhance the track to its full potential and catchiness, especially at the unforgettable and energetic chorus!

Please listen to Bel Epoq and their catchy melodies and sounds, which will surely captivate several music lovers that love high-quality synthwave-oriented modern music!"

Synthpop Your World Staff
by Synthpop Your World on 06-April-2023





INSIDE THE TRACK: [artist's commentary]
By time we wrote the song, we both loved "Blinding Lights" by The Weeknd, so we tried to capture a similar energy for "Never Enough". Soundwise, the first key element of the song is the main lead synthesizer sound. It's a customized user patch for our trusty microKorg, made by a guy called "Thoracius Appotite". He simply calls it lo-fi chorus squarewave polysynth. And that's exactly, what it is. We instantly fell in love with it's organic feeling and the heavy detuning. For drums and bass, we almost exclusively use the F9 Grid plugins for Logic. A straight 8ths arp bass, classic four on the floor drums. Nothing fancy, but effective. On top of the drumtrack we recorded live drums for a more organic feel. I remember playing a Ludwig Supraphonic on that track... The chord progression with its arpeggiated minor chords was written by Ari on an upright piano in our kitchen. The verse lyrics and melodies were written almost simultaneously to the chords. To find something for the chorus was a little struggle, though. In the end, we decided to keep it really simple by just repeating the words „We never get enough“. Finally, the vocals were recorded at Jurik's (Maretzki - producer, mix & master) Studio in Hamburg. He also added a few fresh arrangement ideas for the song, giving it a better dynamic curve and featuring the more exciting moments to really push the song forward.

Play in Spotify Play in Spotify Not Available Buy in iTunes
Not Available Buy in Bandcamp Play in Youtube Play in Youtube
Not Available Play in Soundcloud


This track/song is currently rotating in our following playlist/s:



You can now contribute/support to the Synthpop Your World project, help us organize giveaways, suggest ideas or simply help us keep the wifi/hosting/promos on :D !

or support the classic way via paypal or clicking/buying using our amazon ads!: